Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships Open for First 2023 Round

Scholarships for graduates from Commonwealth countries to undertake a two-year Master’s course in a low- or middle-income Commonwealth country.

The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) is an international organisation dedicated to building a better world through higher education.

The ACU provides the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) to give talented students from anywhere in the Commonwealth the opportunity to study a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country.

The awards will provide the opportunity to develop new skills, experiencing life in another country, and build their global networks. Scholarships are for students committed to creating change in their communities and contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Applicants must be a citizen of or hold refugee status in a Commonwealth country other than the intended host country.

Applicants must have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application. There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award.

Participating institutions may specify which academic disciplines are eligible for scholarship or may invite applications for any Master’s course supported by the institution. The QECS will only fund two-year Masters Courses, and must be hosted by institutions in LMICs.

For the first 2023 application round, scholarships are offered at the following countries/institutions. Note that some universities will only accept scholars for certain subject areas, and applicants are advised to consult the call webpage:

  • Bangladesh: University of Dhaka
  • Eswatini: University of Eswatini (UNESWA)
  • Ghana: Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi (KNUST)
  • Jamaica: The University of the West Indies:
    • Cave Hill Campus, Barbados
    • Mona Campus, Jamaica
    • St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad & Tobago
  • Malaysia: Universiti Putra Malaysia, University of Malaya
  • Mauritius: University of Mauritius
  • Pakistan: COMSATS University Islamabad
  • Tanzania: The State University of Zanzibar
  • Uganda: Makerere University

The scholarships are fully funded and provide tuition fees, return economy flights, an arrival allowance and a stipend for a maximum of two years. A research support grant may also be provided on request. Exact values will be confirmed in successful applicants’ award letters.

Applications for the first 2023 round should be submitted by the 10 January 2023 (16:00 UTC) deadline.

(This report was the subject of a ResearchConnect Newsflash.)