Nominations Now Open for 2020 Gruber Prizes

The Gruber Foundation is dedicated to the advancement of science, support of young scientists, global justice, and women’s rights.

Through its international prize programme, the Foundation promotes excellence in science by highlighting and promoting leadership in fields that create a better world. The Prizes honour individuals in the fields of cosmology, genetics, and neuroscience, whose ground-breaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

The prizes available are:

Gruber Neuroscience Prize

Awarded to individuals whose research in the fields of brain, spinal cord or peripheral system have advanced scientific understanding of the nervous system. A nominee may be any individual who has conducted highly distinguished research in the field of the brain, spinal cord, or peripheral nervous system.

Gruber Cosmology Prize

Presented to a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist, mathematician or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in the understanding of the universe. The prize is co-sponsored by the International Astronomical Union.

Eligible nominees are any individual working in the fields of astronomy, cosmology, mathematics or the philosophy of science, whose achievements have produced fundamental advances in the understanding of the structure and evolution of the universe.

Gruber Genetics Prize

Awarded to a leading scientist, in recognition of ground-breaking contributions to any realm of genetics research. A nominee may be any individual who has made original discoveries in the fields of genetic function, regulation, transmission, variation or in genomic organisation.

Individuals may be nominated by any other individual, organisation or institution active in, or that have an appreciation for, contemporary: neuroscience research and study; genetic research or problems; or cosmological research and study. There are no residency or nationality restrictions.

Each prize consists of a gold medal and an unrestricted cash award of US $500,000.

Nominations should be submitted by the deadline of 15 December 2019.

More information about this research funding opportunity and the application process is available on the RESEARCHconnect funding information platform. RESEARCHconnect provides up-to-the minute content, insight and analysis on research funding news and policy. To find out more about how RESEARCHconnect can keep you in the know, and subscription fees, contact us today.