European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards Open for Applications

The annual award programme provides grants and public recognition to outstanding initiatives and best practices that contribute to the protection and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

The European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards were launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme. Europa Nostra, the Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage, was selected to run this awards scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising, at a European level, individual or joint excellence in the field of Cultural Heritage. The awards are supported by the European Commission’s Creative Europe programme.

The awards celebrate and promote the highest standards in the conservation and enhancement of tangible and intangible cultural heritage interventions, research, and education, training and awareness-raising, as well the longstanding dedication of professionals and volunteers. The Awards identify and promote best practices, stimulate the trans-frontier exchange of knowledge throughout Europe, increase public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage and encourage further excellent initiatives.

Awards are granted annually in five categories:

  • Conservation & Adaptive Reuse.
  • Research.
  • Education, Training & Skills.
  • Citizens Engagement & Awareness-raising.
  • Heritage.

Entries may be small or large scale, ranging from local to European to international level, and be related to tangible, intangible or digital heritage.

Up to 30 outstanding heritage achievement projects will be awarded throughout Europe. Of these, up to five will be selected as Grand Prix laureates and will be awarded €10,000 each, while one will receive the €10,000 Public Choice Award, chosen in an online poll.

Entries may be submitted from all countries that take part in the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union. Entries may be submitted for projects/studies or dedicated service to heritage conservation by anyone closely connected to the entry, as long as permission has been gained from the owner of the building or site/author of the study.

Applications should be submitted by the 13 October 2023 deadline.