DFG Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2023 Now Open for Nominations

Prestigious award offers up to €2.5 million for individuals and research teams who have made outstanding contributions to their research area at an early stage in their career.

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG – German Research Foundation) seeks nominations for the annual Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize. The award is the DFG’s most important research award and recognises exceptional scientists and academics for their outstanding achievements in research. It aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified young researchers. The award is open to all research areas.

Awards are made to individuals who, at an early stage of their careers, have demonstrated superior achievements in their research areas both in a national and international context, and who show exceptional promise for future top-level accomplishments that will have a sustainable impact on the German research landscape.

Prizes may be awarded to individuals or research teams working at a research institution in Germany or at a German research institution abroad.

Eligible to submit nominations to the DFG are the following organisations:

  • Universities and other doctorate-granting higher education institutions in Germany
  • All members of the DFG.
  • Helmholtz Association of National Research Centres.
  • Elected spokespersons of the DFG’s review boards.
  • Previous Leibniz prizewinners.
  • Former members of the Leibniz Selection Committee.

Direct applications are not accepted.

Up to ten prizes are awarded annually with a maximum of €2.5 million per award.

The deadline for nominations for the 2023 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award is 19 January 2022.

(This report was the subject of a RESEARCHconnect Newsflash.)