AHRC Research in Film Awards 2019

The Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Research in Film Awards are designed to encourage, stimulate and acknowledge the considerable body of work created at the interface between research and film. The awards showcase, reward and recognise the best of the growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no longer than 30 minutes) linked to arts and humanities research, including by-products and records of research, primary output, film used for dissemination of research and practice-based research.

Awards will be made in the following five categories:

1. Best Research Film of the Year

2. Doctoral Award or Early Career Film

3. Mental Health and Wellbeing Award (public category)

4. Social Media Short Award

5. Inspiration Award (public category)

Films entered for the best film by a Doctoral Student or Early Career Researcher Award must have been produced as a result of AHRC funding. The Best Research Film of the Year and the Social Media Short Award are open to all those eligible for AHRC funding. The Mental Health and Wellbeing Award and the Inspiration Award are open to all but films must be inspired by arts and humanities research.

The winner in each category will win £2,000 towards their future film-making activities.

The deadline for entries is 20 June 2019.

The winners will be announced at an Awards ceremony at BFI Southbank, London, on 12 November 2019.

More information about this research funding opportunity and the application process is available on the RESEARCHconnect funding information platform. RESEARCHconnect provides up-to-the minute content, insight and analysis on research funding news and policy. To find out more about how RESEARCHconnect can keep you in the know, and subscription fees, contact us today.