51st Leopold Griffuel Award for Cancer Research

These prizes recognise major breakthroughs in fundamental research, translational and clinical research in oncology by researchers in Europe.

The Léopold Griffuel Award was created in 1970 to encourage cancer research and is now administered by Fondation ARC, a non-profit organisation based in France dedicated to cancer research.

The award is divided into two categories:

  • Basic Research Award.
  • Translational and Clinical Award.

Each prize is presented to an individual investigator or a small team of researchers whose work has led to a major breakthrough in oncological research.

The competition is open to individual investigators and small teams of researchers (maximum of six) across Europe who meet the following criteria:

  • All candidates must still be involved in research.
  • Each nomination must be sponsored by at least two internationally renowned scientists.

There are two prizes of €150,000 each. €50,000 of each prize will be remitted to the recipient(s) with the remainder paid to the recipient’s host institution. Funds are to be used to further scientific work within five years of award.

Applications must be completed in English and submitted through the Foundation’s online proposals portal.

Nominations for the 2023 (51st) Award must be submitted by 3 October 2022 (15:00).

Applications are judged by an international scientific committee and then validated by Fondation ARC’s Board of Directors.

(This report was the subject of a RESEARCHconnect Newsflash.)