Jürgen Ehlers Thesis Prize

Closing Date: 30/09/2024

An international prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding PhD thesis in mathematical and numerical relativity.

The International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation (ISGRG) is an affiliated commission (AC2) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP). ISGRG was formed in 1971, as the successor to the International Committee on General Relativity and Gravitation. Its mission is to promote the study of general relativity and gravitation and to exchange information in the interest of its members and the profession.

The Jürgen Ehlers Thesis Prize is presented once every three years for the best PhD thesis submitted in the fields of mathematical and numerical general relativity.

The Prize was established in 2008 in memory of Professor Jürgen Ehlers (1929-2008), a distinguished relativist and a past President of ISGRG. Professor Ehlers made seminal contributions to foundations of general relativity, many of its mathematical aspects and cosmology. He was the founding director of the Albert Einstein Institute of the Max Planck Society of Germany and won the Max Planck Medal, the highest honour bestowed by the German Physical Society.

The Prize is sponsored by Springer.

One award is typically made in a given cycle.

Funding body International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation (ISGRG)
Maximum value 1,500 USD
Reference ID S25080
Category Engineering and Physical Sciences
Science and Technology
Fund or call Fund